Kuy’s Big Boy Room

March 24, 2013

Kuy’s big boy room definitely evolved over time. After his first birthday, I knew I wanted to do a nautical/vintage/beach theme (That’s what his party theme was and I wasn’t ready to give it up!) but I didn’t want to be so overboard (do you catch the pun?!?) that it looked like the theme threw up all over the room. I just wanted a touch of each of these.

I knew I wanted navy and orange; therefore, since June, anytime I saw something I thought would work in the room, I picked it up. From pillows on clearance at TJ Maxx, then finding the same ones at Home Goods in bigger form for floor pillows, to finding $1 sales at Michael’s…it literally took nine months to decorate this room.

The best finds came when we went to Wilmington for Russ’ Nike Basketball Clinic. While he learned about defense, I was stopping at every thrift store I could find! One store I visited even had items from movies based on Nicholas Sparks that had been filmed there! It was definitely worth the trip.

I stored all of the items I found in a box in the attic until it was time to make the transition. Then, over Christmas, when he turned 18 months, not only was it time, but we actually had time to get it done.

I frantically began my search for a big boy bed. I had pinned several things and realized they were similar. It seemed, I really liked beds like these:

From Posh Tots:

bed1

 Hmm…a LITTLE out of my price range, though!

Or like this from Elle Decor:

bed2

I loved this pallet wall from www.jutehome.com (I can’t get the link to the actual place…if anyone knows, please share!)

bed3

But also had leaned more towards ones like this that Lori Danelle made…

bed4

I kept searching though…visiting numerous websites, Pinterest , trying to talk my dad into making the pallet bed, trying to talk Russ into the pallet wall (all of which attempts were unsuccessful), FINALLY, good ol’ Craig  came through…! I found one for $35…just a regular twin bed I knew I could paint! (I took the before picture on my phone then dropped it in water without backing it up so…only have the finished product! L)

So here’s what we’ve got so far….I don’t want to call it finished because I really want something else above his bed and redo a dresser like this one Stacy made over at  Embracing Change! How cool is it!

dresser

Here’s his new room! Thanks Hunter and Brandy for the awesome anchor! 🙂 When Kuy saw it, he said, “Awww…”

IMG_6972

IMG_6971

  IMG_6970

IMG_6969

Striped Frame

IMG_7006

IMG_7007

Source List:

Chevron Blanket: One Kings Lane flash sale

Comforter and Sham: Target

Sheets: Target (These aren’t the exact same sheets but they are close!)

Chair: Habitat for Humanity ReStore

Big Pillow: TJ Maxx

Smaller Navy and White Pillows, Burlap and Wire Toy Basket: HomeGoods

Anchor Pillow: One Kings Lane flash lane

Jute Rug: World Market two years ago (this was in our sunroom and I moved it over to Kuy’s room)

Oars: Michael’s (Unfinished pieces…I’ll add tutorial soon!)

Boat Picture: Hobby Lobby two years ago (This was on our mantle, previously.)

Rope Basket and Sailboat: Hobby Lobby summer of 2012

Anchor with rope: Carolina Moon Crafts

Stool: Mine growing up 🙂

Kuy print: Zulily flash sale

5 thoughts on “Kuy’s Big Boy Room

  1. Pingback: DIY Square Ottoman | The Queen and Her Court

  2. Pingback: Baby Blanket Pillow | The Queen and Her Court

  3. Pingback: Nursery Update with Things We Already Had! | The Queen and Her Court

  4. Pingback: {Almost} Entirely Thrifted Dining Room | The Queen and Her Court

  5. Pingback: Eclectic Boys Gallery Wall | The Queen and Her Court

Leave a Reply

