A Home’s Perspective

July 15, 2013

We call her “she” and claim “her” roots go deeper than truly known to the human eye.

Who designed it?

Who built it?

Is it old?

Does it have history?

What is her story?

I love homes. I love all things home decor. I don’t like to call myself a shopper but I could shop for home stuff all day long…not clothes.

But what I love most about a home is her story. Who encompasses the four walls of a home? What story does what they placed in the home say about them? What do the accessories, the toys, the pillows they choose symbolize in their lives?

This weekend we had the privilege to attend a beautiful wedding of two friends from our small town.

IMG_1295

Are they not GORGEOUS!?!? What an incredible wedding!

While on our mini-vacation and in between wedding festivities, we also had the distinct privilege to stay with some amazing friends in their beautiful Daniel Island home. My friend, Alisa that I danced with in college (Go Tigers!), her husband, Stiles, and her sweet baby Greer, opened their gorgeous TWO front doors to us!

IMG_8040

This was off of our guest room…I know, right.

porch2

Can you see the love here? Don’t you feel welcome as soon as you pull up? From the drop dead gorgeous flower boxes to the FROG (as I learned to call it…for those of you like me, it means the Finished Room Over the Garage!). Their story is love and thoughtfulness as every detail is evident…

IMG_8136

IMG_8096

IMG_8114

IMG_8110

Alisa and Stiles’ home is stunning but so casual. From the warmth of the floors to the comfortable couches to the dark finishes, everything fit perfectly together yet showed elegance.

IMG_8106

IMG_8100

IMG_8097

 

Are you dying over this bathroom?

master%20bath

It was not only what she chose to place inside her home but how she greeted us. She prepared lavish breakfasts of cinnamon rolls, fruit, yogurt, and granola and continuously checked on us to make sure we were okay and well fed and rested!

With this view, how can you not be rested and relaxed?

IMG_8053

Heck, she even gave us accessories in need of some love! (I left with West Elm curtains, four barstools, and THREE rugs!!!!!!)

We had a blast and felt so loved on by these sweet people! I couldn’t continue without a picture of this sweet girl.

IMG_8130

On Saturday, Alisa kept telling us there were a few places we had to go to…After hitting up the most amazing Garden Ridge, Home Goods and TJ Maxx I’ve ever been to, Alisa called and asked if we saw the signs for the Coastal Living Showhome when we arrived on the island. What?!?! How did I miss that?! She was so nonchalant about it and I was the nerd that was about to burst from excitement knowing that as soon as we returned to the island that afternoon I was going.

Y’all.

There are not even words.

This place was ahhmazing. (Unfortunately, I can’t share pictures because the issue isn’t coming out until the fall.)

Just know I was completely blown away by this island and this one house had it all. Its ability to mix casual with such lush, natural finishes is something I only dream of creating. I felt at home as soon as I walked in the door and no one even lived there! (This is how I know homes are females. She needed to be presentable!)

From the light fixtures to the floors, everything was perfectly thought out and somehow the whole house just had that flow of color (and I mean orange, blue, pink, and lavender) that tied every single room together. In one bathroom for example, there was a gold mirror, a chrome faucet and glass knobs. Can someone please teach me how to do this? This is such an incredible art form and I hope one day to have a tenth of that talent. You have GOT to check out the issue of Coastal Living this fall!! This home’s story of thought out character in a brand new home and meaningful touches spoke volumes without the family even living there yet. What the interior designers did was outstanding. This home was a masterpiece and I know she was ready for her family to arrive.

Thank you, Alisa and Stiles and Greer for letting us crash with you!

Thank you, O’Dell and Pruitt family for inviting us to the wedding!

Thank you to our parents and Namommy for keeping our sweet babies!

We are truly blessed in all aspects of our lives but this weekend it was evident by the homes we visited, the homes we stayed in, the family that embraced us.

I say all this about homes to ask this: How does your home feel? Do you and your family feel a part of her? Is she loved on so others feel a part of your family? I am not talking about how organized it is because those toys all over the floor show that kids are having fun! I mean, what is her story?

I left this beautiful, relaxing weekend feeling inspired.

Inspired by love.

Inspired by design.

Inspired by warmth.

Inspired by the beauty of rain.

Inspired by a story and the chance to create my own.

You were chosen to love your home no matter if you’re renting, owning or living in a school bus (I just watched Design Star!). Wherever we live, wherever we make our home on Earth, we must remember. God has blessed us with these. No matter the size, shape or age.

What is your home’s perspective?

What would your home say about you when you left?

Why were you chosen to love your home?

More than anything, it must like feel like home to you.

After all, there’s no place like home.

Source (two of Alisa’s pictures from her house):  http://www.danielisland.com/property/2501-daniel-island-drive/pbase/a0AC000000RCGhkMAH/

Leave a Reply

