My Plans

September 12, 2013

In case you’re wondering, I won the Mother of the Year award, last night. Cray had a fever after spending two days with Kuy with the same fever, Kuy had just woken up from a five hour nap (yes, you read that right), and supper needed to be made. I won the award for my stunning ability to bounce the littlest one in a sling wrapped around me while trying to hold the pacifier in his mouth and holding a toddler at bay as he stood on the stool right by the stove, all while attempting to brown meat. Don’t judge. We successfully had spaghetti for supper.

That’s a lot for me to share with you because it is obvious what I was doing was dangerous and crazy (Mom, all turned out fine.). Russ is getting his Master’s right now and has class two nights a week. Y’all, I am so proud of him. It’s just a lot to balance but I know it will be so worth it. Needless to say, we are learning how to deal with plans that aren’t our own.

I had big plans to pack last night.

I had big plans to have supper ready by six and kids in bed by eight but when a long nap is the longest ever, that goal turns into just getting supper ready.

I had big plans to have boxes packed for two rooms, at the least, because, of course, the kiddos would go down without a fight.

I had big plans to work on my scavenger hunt for Open House.

What was I thinking?

Has God not already made it clear to me that my plans are far inferior to His plans? Why did it take two sick kids this week to remind me of that? Even my to-do list of plans is inferior and something God cares so deeply about.

I’m learning. Slowly but surely.

I should’ve known when my devotion yesterday morning said this:

“So many people dream of the day when they will finally be happy; when they are out of debt, when their children are out of trouble, when they have more leisure time, and so on. While they daydream, their moments are trickling onto the ground like precious balm spilling wastefully from overturned bottles.” Jesus Calling, Sarah Young

Enjoy these moments.

Yes, I browned meat with two children close by without visiting the ER but five minutes later when I could put the baby down, I looked over and the oldest was kissing the youngest on the head. I had to stop and praise God for those moments.

Enjoy these moments.

Supper has to be made. Laundry has to be done. But as you’re running back and forth (because they need to see that the house doesn’t clean itself), stop and pat their little heads because too soon those little heads will be gone.

One thought on “My Plans

Leave a Reply

