I Thought It Would Be Harder

September 16, 2013

I thought it would be harder.

IMG_2027

I thought I would miss the old house more. But already, I love this house.

I love the openness. I loved on moving day that everyone stood around and was eating and talking at the bar. I love looking out the window and seeing Kuy play on the deck. I love being able to see Cray play on the floor while I clean up.

I thought I would miss so much about the old house but this is the old, old house we’ve already come to love.

I told Russ on our first night I needed to write a post titled, “How NOT to Move with a Toddler” because there are some things we didn’t do well. AT ALL. Thankfully, we had numerous friends and family to remedy a few situations. Oh, and there was a paci that helped, too. Stop judging. We were tired.

IMG_1996

I thought it would be harder to leave.

I thought I would miss seeing Kuy run down the hall.

I thought I wouldn’t make it when Sunday to church I actually put on lanolin because I couldn’t find my lipstick (I know, #firstworldproblems).

I thought the transition would be much harder on me.

I thought a lot of things but I realize how little I thought I knew.

I thought about it.

You see, I agonized over whether or not we were doing the right thing because there were so. many. road blocks. Maybe I was too being too analytical. I agonized over every situation and tried to play them out in my mind so I’d be prepared.

Looking back, I truly feel like the devil was stopping what he knew was planned for this house. Or trying at least.

We questioned but we prayed and cried and prayed and rejoiced and prayed and cried and rejoiced. And somehow it always worked. Whether it was family members helping monetarily or someone giving something away exactly when we needed it or incredible friends giving up their Saturdays or best friends coming over to pack the u-haul the night before they went to the beach, there was always a way.

It just took a little longer than expected.

I thought about it a lot.

And I really thought it would be harder.

IMG_2024

What are your moving stories? How did your family make the transition? Did you know lanolin makes great lipstick that lasts through three hours of church? P.S. Excuse the blurry Instagram photos…

P.S.S I’m “trying out” a new blog design. Let me know your thoughts…I know this is probably against all the rules in blogland but I wasn’t loving the black background…

Leave a Reply

