Moving Through Life

October 21, 2013

How do you move metaphorically through life? Slowly? Too fast? Do you stop and smell the roses? Do you plan the next thing while not being finished with something else?

Last week, I posted about how I felt like I was rushing each activity to get to the next. Saturday, while tailgating, I had a whole different perspective. I listened. I learned. I enjoyed the fellowship with friends, family, and strangers.

By choosing to enjoy each moment and not dread spending four hours waiting for the game because I was so anxious, I was truly having fun.

Did we do anything special? No, not necessarily, but my new mentality put everything in a new vantage point.

This week I was reminded of this as we tried to plan out things financially. Apparently, I worry about too much of life but I disguise it as “planning ahead.”
This from Jesus Calling by Sarah Young, changed it all for me:

“Anxiety is a result of envisioning the future without Me. So the best defense against worry is staying in communication with Me. When you turn your positive thoughts toward Me, you can think more positively. Remember to list, as well as to speak, making your thoughts a dialogue with Me.”

I hope it encourages you, too,

I’d love to know how you move through life. Please leave a comment or send me an e-mail!

Leave a Reply

