One Year Later…

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”  John 15:5

I cannot believe one year ago today I wrote this little bitty post and people.actually.read.it.

THANK YOU for that!

Thank you for hanging as we have grown, I have grown, and we have been on this unbelievable journey, constantly grounded by God’s sovereignty.

But, I did put together this cute little thing to commemorate my top ten most read posts after one year.

One Year

Then, today, I finished Radical, and that was no coincidence.

In the last chapter, David Platt challenges us to a ONE YEAR challenge. See, not a coincidence that it coincides with my one year anniversary as a blog (is it weird I don’t like the term “blogiversary?”).

So many of you have messaged me privately, or e-mailed, or commented on how some posts actually impacted you. For that, I have no words other than God spoke through me. I seriously pray every time I hit publish because I still get so nervous. SO, thank you. Thank you for sharing that with me and thank you for allowing these words to hit close to home. This is me. This is our life. There is no gray area (except for the shades of gray I so greatly love around my house).

Now, what was the challenge?

For one year:

  1. Pray for the entire world…Platt also suggested a book called Operation World to help guide you through this process. He mentioned a kid’s version but I haven’t quite found it but if you have, please share with me! I would love for it to be something my family could do at night!
  2. Read through the entire word….I REALLY want to do this. Mama has done this numerous times and she is so knowledgeable. I’d love any suggestions for this, as well.
  3. Sacrifice your money for a specific purpose…he puts this perfectly:

“The key word here, again, is sacrifice. The challenge is not just to give away excess stuff that you don’t really need anyway. That’s not sacrifice. Sacrifice is giving away what it hurts to give. Sacrifice is not giving according to your ability; it’s giving beyond your ability.”

  1. 4.       Spend your time in another context…

”The point is not where we go, how we get there, or even how long we stay. The point is that we simply go.”

  1. 5.       Commit your life to a multiplying community…

He says, don’t we pray, “OUR Father in heaven…” it is ours. Not mine specifically or yours, but OURS. WE MUST SHARE THIS.

These may seem problematic or too much of a sacrifice but he mentions over and over that this is not a multitude of years, but if implemented, unknowingly, it will become your lifestyle.

After simplifying from reading Seven, and reading Radical, and learning from this yellow house journey , we are so humbled.

We were taken down to what we perceived as almost nothing but we are still so blessed with health, our children, each other, a roof, and actual food to eat and money to buy it in case a chicken goes bad (as was the case tonight).

I’m ready for this, y’all. I’ve told you I felt a change…I sense it looming around the corner but I feel so strongly we are on this journey together.

Are you in? Can you commit with us to these things for one year?

If so, please comment by saying, “I’m in!” and immediately, you’re going on my prayer list. We cannot do this alone. Jesus made sure of it.

After all, He He rescued us with both hands…we must trust that it means we can let go.

Are you in? Let me know or share your thoughts…

I’d love to know if you read the book, too!

Platt, David. Radical: Taking Back Your Faith from the American Dream. Colorado Springs, CO: Multnomah, 2010. Print.

Leave a Reply

